Brimstone – Firewatcher #1

Brimstone is the first book in The Firewatcher Chronicles

It’s December 1940.

London lad Christopher Larkham finds an ancient Roman ring, inscribed with a phoenix, on the bank of the Thames.

As German bombs fall on his city to create the greatest firestorm of the Blitz, Christopher takes shelter underground with his neighbours. He pushes open a hidden door, and steps out of the Second World War onto the river bank centuries ago, facing the Great Fire of London – and even greater danger on his return.

Brimstone is out now.

It’s available from bookstores in Australia and New Zealand and as an ebook.

Download teacher’s notes.

New edition (Scholastic, 2019)

brimstone cover

First edition (Scholastic, 2018)

Brimstone front cover, first edition

Read about the other books in the series: Phoenix and Vigil.


It’s an absolutely fabulous premise, and Kelly Gardiner pulls it off with such panache. The characters are lively and believable, and both historical settings are compelling and action-packed. And there’s plenty of humour to leaven the suspense. This is middle-grade fantasy at its superb best, and I for one cannot wait for the rest of the series.

Kate Forsyth

This is a great middle grade read and a promising start to a new series. A lovely blend of time travel and, magic and mystery, suitable for readers aged 8 years and up. Fast paced and a real page turner, loved the adventure it was very easy to get into this book and read it to the very end.